Yes, you can save your application and work on it any time. Your application is not submitted until you press 'Final Submission' on the final submission page. Once this is done, you can no longer make changes to your application. However, even after your application is submitted, you can continue to use the online system to notify references that their letters have not yet been received, and check the status of your transcripts.